SCWW Conference Break down Part 1: Bar Food and 911

So I have decided that instead of going through a few highlights, and ranting about how awesome the conference was, I’m going to break it down into segments to really show everyone what the Conference experience is like for a newbie (such as myself).

I arrived at the Hilton Resort in Myrtle Beach late Thursday evening (my husband was installing a tankless water heater and the time got away from him) so I checked in later than I had planned. I got all settled into my room (which was lovely despite the view of the parking lot) and made sure to hang up all my new “grown up” clothes. I was hungry and tempted to just have something sent up to my room, but I was here to meet people so down to the bar I went. Unfortunately there weren’t any writer types in the bar area but I did strike up a conversation with some nice folks who were there for a 911 conference. So I got a yummy quesadilla, a stiff Makers Mark and Ginger Ale, and some pretty cool 911 stories. Not too shabby an evening.

My point of even getting into this whole thing, is that you never know who you’re going to meet. I was tired, I wanted to work on my novel and crash (God knows peace and quiet is a hot commodity in my house) but I told myself that’s not why I”m here. If I wanted to run out to a hotel and write in solitude, it would have to be another weekend, because this weekend was for learning as much as humanly possible, and meeting as many new peers as possible. Granted, I didn’t meet anyone from “my” conference that night but I did meet some interesting people. I was even able to join in a conversation at breakfast the following morning because I knew who the other conference was for and tell them about my night. Instant conversation, throw in a few jokes, and they’ll be eating out of your hand. Not literally, that would be gross, even if it was just bagels.

But my loyal readers is a story for tomorrow. So just to recap:

1. Hang up your damn clothes, you’re an adult for Christ’s sake.

2. Step out of your comfort zone (that’s a recurring thing over the weekend)

3. Don’t be afraid to jump into a conversation that’s already happening (politely of course)

Tomorrow I’ll talk about having breakfast with a publisher, that days sessions, expectations vs. reality and proper footwear.

Good night and fare the well.

Leave a comment